Home Business Lloyds and Halifax closing 28 more branches

Lloyds and Halifax closing 28 more branches

Lloyds and Halifax closing 28 more branches

Lloyds will be closing 20 branches and Halifax eight branches between August and November this year.

The move follows the Lloyds Banking Group’s closure of 48 branches between January and April this year, and the announcement in March that a further 60 branches will close between June and September.

In total the three announcements mean customers will lose access to 85 Lloyds Bank branches, 32 Halifax branches, and 19 Bank of Scotland branches by the end of this year.

The latest raft of branch closures will impact 69 full-time staff and have been slammed by union Unite which described them as “inexcusable”.

Caren Evans, Unite national officer said: “The branch closure announcement today that another profit making financial institution is failing to consider the needs of consumers and staff beggars’ belief. This news is another example of a bank choosing to walk away from the communities who need access to banking.

“The actions of Lloyds Banking Group over the last few months are completely inexcusable. The management is letting down customers and their dedicated workforce.

“These closures will leave some customers more than 10 miles from their nearest bank branch. This is a betrayal of some of the most vulnerable, elderly and socially excluded in our communities who need local access to community banking.”

According to Unite, across the financial services sector more than 5,000 bank and building society branches have been cut from our high streets since 2015.

This latest closure program will leave Lloyds Banking Group with 1,387 bank branches. The bank said that customers of all branches set to close will have access to everyday banking and cash, such as via a Post Office, within one mile.

Which branches are closing?

The following Lloyds branches will close between August and November:

Norwich Heartsease, Norfolk; Thatcham, Berkshire; Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire; Bilborough, Nottingham; Broadstone, Dorset; Letchworth, Hertfordshire; Nottingham Hyson Green; Oadby, Leicestershire; Plympton, Devon; Verwood, Dorset; Ilfracombe, Devon; Whickham, Tyne and Wear; Atherstone, Warwickshire; Hadleigh, Essex; Swanage, Dorset; Ystrad Mynach, Caerphilly; Bourne, Lincolnshire; Heald Green, Greater Manchester; Banstead, Surrey; Williton, Somerset.

The following Halifax branches will close:

Coalville, Leicestershire; Falmouth, Cornwall; Hoddesdon High Street, Hertfordshire; Manchester Trafford, Greater Manchester; Lewes, East Sussex; Walton Vale, Merseyside; Dover, Kent; Dorchester, Dorset.


Previous articleEFL clubs could face stadium closures for pitch invasions next season | Football League
Next articleRussia allows 15 companies to remain listed abroad